• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Help...Cranks but won't start

brnco_luvr

Loc.
San Diego
So I was driving on a nice sunny afternoon with my wife. As I was driving up a hill at about 45mph, the engine started stuttering and shut down. It then cranked but wouldnt start. No smell of gas. Had to tow it back home. I think it may be the fuel pump, but would appreciate any suggestions on where to start and how to diagnose the problem. I am a novice mechanically, but would love to try to fix it myself if possible.
'74, 302, C4, 4 barrel carb.
Thanks ya'll
Shane

ared77

Contributor
Bronco Guru
1) Look down into carb (air cleaner off) wile you move the throttle by hand - see streams of liquid gas shooting in? Answer is probably "no" since you don't smell any gasoline.

2) If no, pour a thimble sized amount of gas into carb and quickly try to start it. Could also use a shot of starting fluid if you want. If it starts, or you notice it try to start, you probably have figured out it is in fact a fuel problem.

3) Once you are convinced it's a fuel issue you can try to decide bad pump, or clogged fuel line, plugged up gas tank, etc.
A) remove fuel line at carb, put a container over end (in case gas comes out) and crank engine for just a second. If no gas -
B) remove line that feeds the fuel pump, gas come out there? If so it's probably the pump. If no gas there, try removing the gas cap and while someone has their ear to the gas tank put a slight shot of compressed air to the line. Other person should hear a slight gurgle from the tank. If not it may be a clogged up fuel line...and that may mean a rusty tank.